Four Allen College Faculty Members Recognized as Great Iowa Nurses

May 1, 2011

WATERLOO, IOWA—Allen College faculty members Jacqueline Leutzinger, Dr. Anna Wehling-Weepie, Dr. Kendra Williams-Perez, and Suzanne Bellinger have been selected for the 2011 class of 100 Great Iowa Nurses. Honorees are nominated for their courage, competence and commitment to patients and the nursing profession.  Those chosen for the honor are credited with advancing and leading the profession of nursing and for demonstrating excellence in direct care delivery.

Identification of nurses in all practice areas and in all 99 Iowa counties is a goal of the recognition program.  Each year 100 Great Iowa Nurses are honored at a ceremony, created for the state of Iowa, by nurse and community leaders. The 2011 honorees will be recognized at a special celebration in Des Moines on May 1.  The event is an annual prelude to National Nurses Week, which begins on May 6 and ends on the birthday of Florence Nightingale, May 12.

Also recognized at the event were several Allen College graduates, each listed with place of employment:  April Barnett, Waverly Health Center, BSN; Amy Dagestad, Iowa Health Des Moines, SN; Lisa Franzen, Allen Memorial Hospital, BSN; Milda Mullesch, Allen Memorial Hospital, BSN; Janice Neal, Black Hawk-Grundy Mental Health Center, Diploma in Nursing; Georgine Wagoner, Black Hawk County Health Department, Diploma in Nursing; Cathy Wilson-Sands, Waverly Health Center, BSN, MSN. Dr. Ellen Cram, Assistant Dean for Undergraduate and Pre-licensure Programs at the University of Iowa College of Nursing and a graduate of Allen Memorial Lutheran School of Nursing, was a co-presenter of awards at the ceremony. 

This recognition program was initiated in 2005 by Melanie Dreher, Dean of the University of Iowa College of Nursing. Similar celebrations are held in the states of Louisiana, North Carolina and Texas.  The Iowa Nurses Foundation entered into a working relationship with 100 Great Nurses in 2005 to provide assistance in the selection review, administrative support and promotion of the program and to coordinate joint scholarship programs.  The program has received the financial support of various health care organizations around the state. Donations provide support for scholarships for registered nurses in Iowa who want to further their education.

The selection in 2011 of these four faculty members for the Great Nurses honor brings to thirteen the number of Allen College faculty members who have been chosen for this recognition.  Past Allen College honorees include Dr.  Jane Hasek, Dr. Nancy Kramer, Dr. Diane Young, Dr. Ruselle DeBonis, Adisa Kudumovic, Darlene Shipp, Mary Brown, Pat Buls, and Barb Seible.


SEO Iowa